PREMIUM ETHICAL CRAFT

Nata Y Limón is the modern story of premium design and ancient Mayan culture honouring hands, minds and hearts. We believe in connecting worlds through appreciation, story and design. We also believe in preserving craft, indigenous culture & diversity through the art of weaving, ancient Mayan wisdom and the empowerment of women.


Time-honoured craftwork, mutual respect and the fusion of traditional and contemporary design gives our unique handmade products soul and beauty. We provide an alternative for people who question the status quo and like to surround themselves with special things. A fusion of ancient Mayan tradition, timeless design and mutual respect gives our unique woven pieces beauty and soul.

Our commitment

We partner with skilled Mayan weavers in Guatemala to develop hand-woven premium fabrics for interior and fashion.


By setting new standards within the artisan & craft industry and transforming the art of weaving into a stable source of income, we are creating long-lasting positive impact for indigenous women, their families and essentially generations to come.

Vision, Manifesto and tangible Utopia.

We believe that big changes are possible if the majority of people are aware of it.

I.


Celebrating Women of all Worlds

We celebrate women as creators of life and driving force within the family.

II.


Indigenous Voices & Equal Rights

We honor indigenous people and their ancient cultures and treat them with greatest respect.

II.


INDIGENOUS VOICES &EQUAL RIGHTS

We honor indigenous people and their ancient cultures and treat them with greatest respect.

III.


One human Family

We believe in a reality of peaceful coexistence in which we put similarities above differences.

How it all started

When we shared a large pizza Margherita and wine in Granada, Nicaragua, on November 23th, we had already spent eventful months marked by a search for meaning, a thirst for adventure and reorientation.Now we were sitting comfortably together in the heart of the American continent, listening to each other's stories with joy and interest. In 2015, we were drawn to Central America to support various NGOs in Guatemala and Costa Rica as volunteers and to gain experience outside the usual corporate world.


It was not foreseeable that this evening would bring us together for an even longer trip. It was the birth of Nata Y Limón. Since that evening, our ideas and thoughts have been complementing and multiplying each other within our common vision (of) for more humanity in this world.

Co-Creation

Marlene

Heroine of Creation

Anne

Heroine of Creation

Fabiola

Heroine of Cultural Exchange

Lea

Heroine of the Design

Daniela

Heroine of Facts & Data

Linda

Heroine of Social Media

I.


Celebrating Women of all Worlds


The most magical event on earth is birth. All people once went through this miracle of nature and all people were once born by a woman. Women first give life and then spend a large part of their own lives with the devoted, often selfless care of their children. They invest not only their time, strength and love in their families, but also the financial means at their disposal.


However, the current reality shows that the majority of all people living in poverty are women, they often have children early, receive hardly any school education and still have to summon up a lot of energy for gender equality. Our question therefore is: How can the human family as a whole thrive if discrimination, exclusion and oppression of women worldwide is still part of everyday life?


It is time to strengthen the female principles and to balance a world dominated by the mind with more love, inner connection, feeling and empathy. The well being of women contributes greatly to a healthy and happy family. We firmly believe that when we women raise our voices for one another, we contribute to the healing of the human family as a whole and strengthen it for generations to come.

II.


Indigenous Voices & Equal Rights


Guatemala is a land full of colours, symbols and patterns. A country with an impressive cultural heritage of the ancient Mayas and a deeply moving history. The descendants of the former Maya make up about half of all Guatemalans today. They live isolated from the rest of society, mostly in rural areas without any infrastructure. Work is scarce and poverty is common for about 80% of the indigenous population. Eight out of ten children suffer from chronic malnutrition and the desire for better living conditions causes many families to attempt “illegal” migration to the USA.


Between 350 and 440 million people worldwide belong to around 6,000 indigenous societies. To this day they are still experiencing the consequences of historical colonisation. Their way of life is not yet seen as equal to national societies. Therefore, the international recognition of the human rights of indigenous societies and their participation in social, economic and political questions is long overdue.


Their perspective on life, knowledge and spiritual traditions of living in harmony with Mother Earth as well as their commitment to the protection of the rainforests and the preservation of biodiversity are needed today more than ever.

III. 


One human Family


We as humans might look differently, believe in different things and live different traditions. However, no matter how great the distance may seem, we all have one thing in common: we are part of one human family, and each member of our family is precious.


The roots of discrimination based on background, appearance, gender, sexual orientation and lifestyle have their origins in constructed and antiquated beliefs. In times of early European colonization they justified the oppression of indigenous peoples, slavery, violence, exploitation and oppression. One reason why we have brought Nata Y Limón to life.


We believe in the evolution of individual and collective human consciousness as the basis for positive change and that we can establish a sensitive and empathetic approach as the new norm. Peace and freedom are achieved when we as a human family stand up for one another, discard the judging of our differences and treat one another as we would like to be treated ourselves.

PREMIUM ETHICAL CRAFT

Nata Y Limón ist die kontemporäre Geschichte alter Maya-Hochkultur und ihre Interpretation mittels erstklassigem Design, welche die arbeitenden Hände, die eingesetzte Energie und die Herzen der Macherinnen wertschätzt. 


Wir bieten Menschen eine Alternative, die den Status-quo hinterfragen und sich gern mit besonderen Dingen umgeben. Eine Fusion aus alter Maya-Tradition, zeitlosem Design und gegenseitigem Respekt verleiht unseren einzigartigen Webstücken Schönheit und Seele.

UNSER ENGAGEMENT

Gemeinsam mit Meisterinnen der Webkunst entwickeln wir handgefertigte Premiumstoffe für Interior und Mode. Im Fokus steht die Unterstützung von indigenen Frauen und das Schaffen einer sicheren Einnahmequelle mittels der uralten Maya Textilkunst. 


Durch eine kontinuierliche Herstellung unserer handgewebten Unikate ermöglichen wir unseren talentierten Weberinnen und Schneiderinnen faire, monatliche Einkommen.

VISION, MANIFESTO UND ERLEBBARE UTOPIE.

Wir glauben, dass große Veränderungen möglich sind, wenn die Mehrheit der Menschen sich dessen bewußt wird. 

I.


Celebrating women of all worlds 

Wir zelebrieren Frauen als Schöpferinnen des Lebens und treibende Kraft innerhalb der Familie.

II.


INDIGENOUS VOICES & EQUAL RIGHTS

Wir begegnen indigenen Völkern und ihrer Jahrtausende alten Kulturen mit größter Wertschätzung und Respekt.

II.


INDIGENOUS VOICES & EQUAL RIGHTS

Wir begegnen indigenen Völkern und ihrer Jahrtausende alten Kulturen mit größter Wertschätzung und Respekt.

III.


ONE HUMAN FAMILY

Wir glauben an eine Realität von friedvollem Miteinander in der wir unsere Gemeinsamkeiten vor unsere Unterschiede stellen.

Wie alles begann

Als wir uns am 25. November in Granada, Nicaragua, eine große Pizza Margherita und Wein teilten, lagen bereits bewegte Monate geprägt von Sinnsuche, Abenteuerlust und Neuausrichtung hinter uns. Jetzt saßen wir im Herzen des amerikanischen Kontinents gemütlich beieinander und lauschten der jeweils Anderen freudig und interessiert bei ihren Erzählungen. Uns hatte es 2015 nach Zentralamerika gezogen, um als Freiwillige verschiedene NGOs in Guatemala und Costa Rica zu unterstützen und Erfahrungen außerhalb der üblichen Unternehmenswelt zu sammeln. 


Nicht absehbar war, dass uns dieser Abend noch für eine viel längere Reise zusammen bringen würde. Es war die Geburtsstunde von Nata Y Limón. Seit diesem Abend ergänzen und multiplizieren sich unsere Ideen und Gedanken, im Rahmen unserer gemeinsamen Vision von mehr Menschlichkeit in dieser Welt. 

Co-Creation

Marlene

Heldin der Schöpfung

Anne

Heldin der Schöpfung

Lea

Heldin der Gestaltung

Fabiola

Heldin des kulturellen Austausches

I.


CELEBRATING WOMEN OF ALL WORLDS


Das wohl magischste Ereignis auf Erden ist die Geburt. Alle Menschen durchliefen einst dieses Wunder der Natur und alle Menschen wurden einmal von einer Frau geboren. Frauen schenken erst Leben und verbringen dann einen großen Teil ihres eigenen Lebens mit der hingebungsvollen, oft selbstlosen Fürsorge ihrer Kinder. Sie investieren nicht nur ihre Zeit, Kraft und Liebe in ihre Familien, sondern auch die ihnen zur Verfügung stehenden finanziellen Mittel. 


 Die gegenwärtige Realität zeigt jedoch - der überwiegende Teil aller in Armut lebenden Menschen sind Frauen, sie bekommen oft früh Kinder, haben kaum Schulbildung und müssen noch immer viel Kraft für Gleichstellungsarbeit aufbringen. Unsere Frage lautet daher: Wie kann es der Menschheitsfamilie im Ganzen gut gehen wenn die Benachteiligung, Ausgrenzung und Unterdrückung von Frauen weltweit nach wie vor zum Alltag gehören? 


 Es ist an der Zeit die weiblichen Prinzipien zu stärken und die vom Verstand beherrschte Welt mit mehr Liebe, innerer Verbindung, Gefühl und Empathie in Balance zu bringen. Das Wohlsein von Frauen trägt wesentlich zu einer gesunden und glücklichen Familie bei. Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass wenn wir Frauen unsere Stimmen füreinander erheben, wir damit zur Heilung der Menschheitsfamilie im Ganzen beitragen und diese über Generationen hinweg stärken.

II.


INDIGENOUS VOICES & EQUAL RIGHTS


Guatemala, ein farbenfrohes Land, mit großem kulturellem Erbe der einstigen Maya Hochkultur und bewegter Geschichte. Die Nachfahren der einstigen Mayas machen heute circa die Hälfte aller Einwohner Guatemalas aus. Sie leben isoliert vom Rest der Gesellschaft überwiegend auf dem Land, ohne Infrastruktur. Arbeit ist rar und Armut für rund 80% der indigenen Bevölkerung alltäglich. Acht von zehn Kindern leiden an chronischer Unterernährung und der Wunsch nach besseren Lebensverhältnissen veranlasst viele Familien zu illegalen Migrationsversuchen in die USA. 


 Weltweit gehören zwischen 350 und 440 Millionen Menschen rund 6.000 indigenen Völkern an. Bis heute erleben sie die Folgen der historischen Kolonialisierung. Ihre Lebensentwürfe werden bislang nicht als gleichberechtigt mit nationalen Gesellschaften angesehen. Längst überfällig ist daher die internationale Anerkennung der Menschenrechte indigener Gesellschaften und ihre Beteiligung an sozialen, ökonomischen und politischen Fragen. 


 Ihr Blickwinkel auf das Leben, Wissen und spirituelle Überlieferungen von Lebensweisen im Einklang mit Mutter Erde sowie ihr Engagement für den Schutz der Regenwälder und dem Erhalt der biologischen Vielfalt werden heute mehr denn je gebraucht.

III. 


ONE HUMAN FAMILY


Wir Menschen mögen uns äußerlich unterscheiden, an viele unterschiedliche Dinge glauben und unterschiedliche Traditionen leben. Egal wie groß die Distanz auch scheint, Eins haben wir jedoch alle gemeinsam: wir gehören zu einer Menschheitsfamilie und jedes Mitglied unserer Familie ist wertvoll. 


 Die Wurzeln von Diskriminierungen aufgrund von Herkunft, Aussehen, Geschlecht, sexueller Orientierung und Lebensweise haben ihren Ursprung in konstruierten und antiquierten Glaubenskonstrukten. In Zeiten der frühen europäischen Kolonialisierung rechtfertigten sie die Unterwerfung indigener Völker, Sklavenhaltung, Gewaltanwendung, Ausbeutung und Unterdrückung. Dieser Einfluss ist heute noch weltweit deutlich spürbar. Ein Grund warum wir Nata Y Limón ins Leben gerufen haben.


Wir glauben an die Evolution des individuellen und kollektiven menschlichen Bewusstseins als Basis für positive Veränderungen und daran, dass wir eine verständnisvolle und emphatische Umgangsweise als die neue Norm etablieren können. Frieden und Freiheit gelingt uns dann, wenn wir als Menschheitsfamilie füreinander einstehen, das beurteilen unserer Unterschiede ablegen und einander so behandeln wie wir selbst behandelt werden wollen.