Female Empowerment


To this day, Mayan women are the guardians of the ancient art of weaving. Over countless centuries and generations they passed on their knowledge to their daughters and have been able to preserve many elements from the Mayan culture up to the present day. For them handicraft is often the only way to contribute to the livelihood of their families.By creating a regular income for them, we improve not only their future but also that of their families and future generations.

Jennifer

Master of Backstrap Weaving

Juana

Master of Backstrap Weaving

Yeniffer 

Master of Backstrap Weaving


Transparency and Social Impact

Creating work alone is not enough. In order to achieve truly long-term changes for indigenous communities, we are raising the standards of the craft industry in Guatemala by ensuring regular payment based on a fair hourly wage. Our exclusive edition of 200 bags per month creates a fixed monthly income for 14 weavers and tailors - and this is just the beginning! With Nata Y Limón we want to give as many women as possible a perspective on traditional weaving in the future.

DOUBLING AND IN MANY CASES EVEN TRIPLING THE PREVIOUS INCOME WHILE REDUCING WORKING HOURS TO 20 HOURS (5-DAY WEEK).

WE FIGHT THE STANDARDS IN THE CRAFT INDUSTRY BY ENSURING CONTINUOUS WORK AND PREDICTABLE MONTHLY INCOME. ADDITIONALLY, WE ENSURE 15 DAYS PAID HOLIDAYS.

WE MAKE IT POSSIBLE FOR MOTHERS TO CARRY OUT HOUSEWORK AND CHILDCARE EVEN NEXT TO THEIR WORK.

OUR GOAL: FROM BREAK-EVEN, PROFITS FLOW INTO SOCIAL PROGRAMS & THE LOCAL INFRASTRUCTURE.

WE ARE IN DIRECT PERSONAL CONTACT WITH ALL PERSONS INVOLVED IN THE PRODUCTION. THIS ENABLES TRANSPARENCY AND JOINT SOLUTIONS.

WOMEN REINVEST UP TO 90% OF THEIR INCOME INTO THEIR FAMILY. THEIR INCOME CREATES INDEPENDENCE AND IMPROVES FAMILY LIFE SITUATIONS.

WE PRODUCE WHERE CRAFTSMANSHIP HAS ITS ORIGIN AND WORK IS URGENTLY NEEDED.

WE SAVE OUR FEW REMAINING MATERIALS FOR REUSE IN E.G. UP-CYCLING PROJECTS.

SOCIAL BUSINESS Activism

We believe that global social change is possible through social entrepreneurship and a shift in thinking on the demand side. As a social business, we want to do our part to contribute to a more conscious society. One in which the economy serves the majority of people, in which we know how and under what conditions the products we buy are manufactured, positive impact creation is part of the strategy and profits are mainly used for the common good.

CONTRIBUTION TO THE UN SUSTAINABILITY GOALS

We create work through the ancient art of Mayan weaving, especially for indigenous women in Guatemala. We work on the goals SDG-1: End poverty in all its forms and everywhere and SDG-5: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls to achieve self-determination.

Cultural Intellectual Property Rights Initiative

As part of the initiative, we contribute to the preservation of traditional Mayan weaving in Guatemala by making the craft a sustainable source of income, valuing and officially recognizing the origin of the techniques and designs as well as the practitioners of Mayan arts and crafts.

1% FOR THE AMAZON & INDIGENOUS RIGHTS

We support the important work of Amazon Watch - a non-profit organisation that protects and preserves the rainforest and advances the rights of Indigenous peoples in the Amazon Basin.

FAIR HOURLY WAGE

To improve living conditions in the long term and to ensure a fair income, we use the latest data from the Global Living Wage Coalition. The non-profit organisation regularly checks what income the people in Guatemala need to escape from the cycle of poverty.

Perspektiven für Frauen


Bis zum heutigen Tag sind die Maya-Frauen die Hüterinnen jener uralten Webkunst. Über unzählige Jahrhunderte und Generationen gaben sie ihr Wissen an ihre Töchter weiter und konnten so viele kulturelle Elemente der Mayas bis in die Gegenwart bewahren. Für sie ist die Handarbeit oftmals die einzige Möglichkeit zum Lebensunterhalt ihrer Familien beizutragen. Indem wir für sie ein regelmäßiges Einkommen schaffen, verbessern wir nicht nur ihre Zukunft sondern auch die ihrer Familien sowie kommender Generationen.

Jennifer

Meisterin des Hüftstuhlwebens

Juana

Meisterin des Hüftstuhlwebens

Yeniffer 

Meisterin des Hüftstuhlwebens


Transparenz und Social Impact 

Arbeit zu schaffen allein reicht nicht aus. Um wirklich langfristige Veränderungen für indigene Gemeinden zu erreichen, erhöhen wir die Standards der Craft Branche in Guatemala und stellen eine regelmäßige Bezahlung auf Basis eines fairen Stundenlohns sicher. Unsere exklusive Auflage von 200 Taschen im Monat schafft monatlich feste Einkommen für 14 Weberinnen und Schneiderinnen – und das ist nur der Anfang! Mit Nata Y Limón möchten wir zukünftig möglichst vielen Frauen eine Perspektive über das traditionelle Webhandwerk ermöglichen.

VERDOPPLUNG DEr BISHERIGEN EINnahmen BEI VERRINGERUNG DER ARBEITSZEIT AUF 20 STUNDEN (5-TAGE-Woche).

FÜR DIE CRAFT-BRANCHE UNGEWÖHNLICH SICHERN WIR KONTINUIERLICHE ARBEIT UND PLANBARE, MONATLICHE EINKOMMEN ZU, ZAHLEN AUCH AN FEIERTAGEN UND GEBEN 15 TAGE URLAUB.

Hausarbeit und Kinderbetreuung ist für Mütter auch neben Der Arbeit möglich.

UNSER ZIEL: AB BREAK-EVEN FLIESSEN GEWINNE IN Soziale PROGRAMME & Die LOKALE INFRASTRUKTUR.

 Wir stehen im direkten persönlichen Kontakt mit allen an der Herstellung Beteiligten Personen. Das ermöglicht Transparenz und gemeinsame Lösungen. 

Frauen stecken bis zu 90% ihres Einkommens zurück in die Familie. Ihr Einkommen schafft Unabhängigkeit und eine Verbesserung familiärer Lebenssituationen. 

WIR PRODUZIEREN DORT, WO HANDARBEIT IHREN URSPRUNG HAT UND ARBEIT DRINGEND NOTWENDIG IST.

Unsere wenigen Stoffreste heben wir zur Wiederverwendung für z.B.Up-Cycling Projekte auf.  

SOCIAL BUSINESS Activism

Wir glauben, dass ein globaler gesellschaftlicher Wandel durch soziales Unternehmertum und Umdenken auf Nachfrageseite möglich ist. Als Social Business möchten wir unseren Teil zu einer bewußter werdenden Gesellschaft beitragen. Einer, in der die Wirtschaft der Mehrheit der Menschen dient, in der wir wissen wie und unter welchen Bedingungen die Produkte die wir kaufen hergestellt werden, Impact skaliert wird und Gewinne dem Gemeinwohl zu Gute kommen.

Unser Beitrag zu den UN-Nachhaltigkeitszielen

Wir schaffen Arbeit in Form des traditionellen Webhandwerks der einstigen Maya Hochkultur, speziell für indigene Frauen in Guatemala. Wir arbeiten an den Zielen SDG-1: Armut in all ihren Formen und überall beenden und SDG-5: Geschlechtergleichstellung erreichen und alle Frauen und Mädchen zur Selbstbestimmung befähigen.

Cultural Intellectual Property Rights Initiative

Als Teil der Initiative tragen wir zum Erhalt der traditionellen Maya Webkunst in Guatemala bei, indem wir das Handwerk zu einer nachhaltigen Einnahmequelle machen, die Herkunft der Techniken und Designs sowie die Ausübenden des Maya Kunsthandwerks wertschätzen und offiziell anerkennen.

1% jeder verkauften Tasche an Amazon Watch

Wir unterstützen die überaus wichtige Arbeit von Amazon Watch – eine Non-Profit Organisation, welche sich für Klimaschutz und Erhalt des Ökosystems im Amazonas Regenwald sowie Menschenrechte der dort lebenden indigenen Bevölkerung einsetzt.

Berechnungsbasis für fairen Stundenlohn

Um die Lebensverhältnisse langfristig zu verbessern und ein faires Einkommen sicherzustellen, beziehen wir uns auf die aktuellsten Daten der Global Living Wage Coalition. Die Non-Profit Organisation überprüft regelmäßig welches Einkommen die Menschen in Guatemala benötigen, um aus dem Armutskreislauf zu entkommen.